Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition Party has Thursday appointed an advisory panel that will recommend a running mate for party leader and flag-bearer Raila Odinga in the August polls. 

Speaking to the press after a closed door meeting with the coalition council chair President Uhuru Kenyatta at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC), Suna East MP Junet Mohamed said the Council further directed the National Executive Council to come up with a campaign strategy that will ensure the coalition party scoops a majority in parliament and the county assemblies.

The council also resolved to form and appoint appoint suitable persons to serve in the Coalition Election Board, Coalition Elections Appeal board, National Disciplinary Committee and Dispute Resolution Panel.

” The above roles will be undertaken by the Coalition’s National Executive Committee in addition to crafting strategies that ensures the Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance Coalition Candidate wins 2022 elections, forms next government, and have majority of members in Parliament and in all the 47 counties,” added Junet.

In attendance was Raila Odinga, Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka, Narc-Kenya’s Martha Karua, Baringo Senator Gideon Moi, Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu and her Mombasa counterpart Hassan Joho among others.

The Azimio La Umoja -One Kenya Coalition Party 12 member council was officially gazetted on Thursday last week.

The other council members are Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka, Narc’s Charity Ngilu, Narc Kenya leader Martha Karua, Senator Gideon Moi, Governor Hassan Ali Joho, MPs Naomi Shaban, Sabina Chege, and Wafula Wamunyinyi, Abdi Noor Omar Farah and National Assembly Minority Leader Junet Mohammed.

The coalition party also has a National Executive Council (NEC), which is being chaired by Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya while Raphael Tuju, former Jubilee Secretary General is the Executive Director.

Oparanya is deputised by Eldas MP Adnan Keynan, lawyer Ken Nyaundi and Jubilee Party Vice Chairperson David Murathe.

Kitui Senator Enoch Wambua is serving as the NEC Treasurer deputised by Pokot South Legislator David Pkosing, Lucy Nyoroka Mworia, and Likoni lawmaker Mishi Mboko.

Samburu West MP Naisula Lesuuda is serving as the Organising Secretary, assisted by Senator Abdul Haji and Maoka Maore.

Junet Mohammed is NEC’s Secretary General with three deputies; Narok North MP Moitalel Ole Kenta, Ugunja MP Opiyo Wandayi and Isabelle Wangechi Githinji.

Further, Special groups are represented by Caroline Wanjiru Karugu, Rose Museo Mumo, and Solomon Kuria.

By Fred Odanga Azelwa.