By Fred Azelwa.

The Public Service Commission has revised the list of candidates it had shortlisted for the Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) positions from 224 to 240.

In a follow-up notice to the original issued on Monday, PSC chairperson Anthony Muchiri said: “This list supersedes the one which was published in the print media on 21st February, 2023.”

He did not give a reason for the revision. The candidates are set to be interviewed from Wednesday, March 1.

Among the new names in the list is Benjamin Washiali, the former Mumias East MP who decided not to defend his seat in the 2022 General Election.

Washiali had served three terms since 2007 when he was elected on an ODM ticket. He was re-elected on a Jubilee ticket and had been a close ally of President William Ruto, which made him lose his National Assembly Majority Whip seat in 2020.

Allan Kosgey, who last year was seeking the Nandi gubernatorial seat on Ruto’s UDA party but lost to Governor Stephen Sang during the party nominations, has been included in the shortlist, together with former Baringo Speaker Kiplagat David Kipkorir.

Others are former Kibwezi West MP UDA candidate James Kimanthi Mbaluka, former Mandera Senator Mohamed Maalim Mohamud, former Kenyan Ambassador to Saudi Arabia Mohamud Ali Saleh, Loice Chepchirchir Rono, and former Migori County Assembly Minority Leader Nicholas Ngabiya Rioba.

David Sande Oyolo, Mohammeddin Ibrahim Ibrein and Lucy Mihiuko Muchoki are some of the other new names.

Among those who had been are former Soy Member of Parliament Caleb Kositany, former Jubilee MP Gideon Keter and former Digital Strategist at then-Deputy President William Ruto’s office, Dennis Itumbi.

The candidates are required to bring original certificates, as well as clearance certificates from the KRA, HELB, a registered Credit Reference Bureau, a police clearance certificate, and a self declaration form signed by the EACC, to the interview.

In the meantime, members of the public have also been invited to submit any credible information about the shortlisted candidates.