The selection panel for the recruitment of nominees for appointment to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on Sunday elected Nelson Makanda as its chairperson.

Charity Kisotu was meanwhile elected Makanda’s deputy.

“Today we had our first meeting to deliberate on the said matter and as such elect the leadership. I am happy to report that the meeting has been successful and very productive and the Panel elected myself Dr Nelson Makanda as the Chairperson and Ms Charity Kisotu as the Vice Chairperson. Both Members were elected unopposed,” Makanda said in a statement to newsrooms.

He noted that during the meeting, the seven members of the selection panel were taken through their mandate and roles.

“I want to assure Kenyans that the panel will now place advertisements in the local dailies for the vacant positions of IEBC Commissioners this week as required by the law,” Makanda said, inviting Kenyans to send their applications for the vacancies to the panel as will be advertised in the coming days.

President William Ruto last week appointed Mankanda, Kisotu, Bethuel Sugut, Novince Euralia Atieno, Evans Misati James, Benson Ngugi Njeri and Fatuma Saman to lead the recruitment of new commissioners.

Upon receiving the applications, the selection panel will shortlist and later invite successful candidates for interviews.

“I want to assure applicants that the exercise will be transparent, free and fair to all. I want to reiterate that the Media will be key to ensuring that this process is conducted in a transparent manner and I, therefore, call for support of the 4th Estate in the exercise,” Makanda added.

By Fred Azelwa.