President William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza alliance has elected Kikuyu Member of Parliament Kimani Ichung’wah as the National Assembly Majority Leader.

The alliance, following a two-day Parliamentary Group retreat in Naivasha on Saturday, picked Kilifi North MP Owen Baya as Ichung’wah’s deputy.

South Mugirango MP Sylvanus Osoro was, on the other hand, elected the Majority Whip, deputized by Naomi Wago.

In the Senate, the President Ruto-led political fold elected Kericho Senator as the House Majority Leader, deputised by his Nakuru counterpart Tabitha Karanja.

Kakamega Senator Dr. Bonny Khalwale was picked as the Majority Whip, with Samburu Senator Steve Lelegwe as his deputy.

A showdown however looms in both Houses of Parliament as both Kenya Kwanza and the Raila Odinga-led Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition party have claimed the majority status.

The onus now falls on the Speakers of the National Assembly (Moses Wetangula) and the Senate (Amason Kingi) to break the stalemate and give a decision on which is the actual majority side depending on their individual numbers.

By Fred Odanga Azelwa.